The session is the governing body of the local church, and is composed of nine Ruling Elders elected by the congregation, and  the Moderator. Ruling elders are so named because they are chosen by the congregation to discern and measure its fidelity to the Word of God, and to strengthen and nurture its faith and life. Ruling elders, together with teaching elders, exercise leadership, government, spiritual discernment, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church, including ecumenical relationships.